Gopher Hockey: Mariucci to host Ice Breaker Tournament


Credit: Gopher Sports

Mariucci Arena will host the annual Ice Breaker Hockey Tournament in October 2013 according to College Hockey Inc.  The field includes Clarkson, Mercyhurst, New Hampshire, and host school Minnesota.

This is the third time that Minnesota has hosted this event.  The school hosted the tournament at Mariucci in 1998 and the Xcel Energy Center in 2007.  Minnesota won the tournament in 2007 which included Boston College, Michigan, and Rensselaer in the field.

Three of the four schools are returning to the Ice Breaker tournament, while Mercyhurst is making their debut in the tournament.  Clarkson was last in the tournament in 2001 and its only other appearance was 1997.  New Hampshire, the only other team to make the 2013 NCAA tournament, was last in the Ice Breaker when it hosted the tournament in 2004.  New Hampshire also appeared in 2000.

This is the fourth tournament the school will host in the 2013-14 season.  Already on the calendar is the Minnesota Cup  at the Xcel Energy Center held January 24 and 25, the annual Mariucci Classic held January 3 and 4, and the NCAA West regional at the Xcel Energy Center.