Xcel Energy Center to host 2018 Frozen Four


The University of Minnesota will be the host of the 2018 Frozen Four, which will be held in St. Paul at the Xcel Energy Center. Additionally, the NCAA also awarded Minnesota the 2016 West Regional, which will also be held at the Xcel Energy Center.

Announced on Wednesday, it’ll be the eighth time that Minnesota has hosted the Frozen Four. Minnesota previously hosted in 1958, 1966, 1989, 1991, 1994, 2002 and as recently as 2011.

The year 2018 could prove to be a big year for Minnesota in the national spotlight as Minneapolis is currently one of three finalists to host the Super Bowl that year in February.

As for this year’s Frozen Four, it’ll be held in Philadelphia at the Wells Fargo Center on April 10 and 12.

Follow Gold and Gopher on Twitter

Follow Frank Bi on Twitter

Like Gold and Gopher on Facebook